Chipstead FC vs Deal Town FC (On Penalties)


The NRT Stadium


Date Time League Season
22/09/2020 7:45 pm The FA Cup First Team 2020/21 Season Fixtures


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Chipstead FC004Won
Deal Town First002Loss


(after 90 mins, Chipstead won 4-2 on pens)
Deal’s hopes of reaching the FA Cup second round qualifying for the first time in five years were dashed in a penalty shootout in Surrey on Tuesday night.
The Hoops were leading 1-0 with three minutes left of normal time when Chipstead equalised to take the tie straight to a penalty shootout, where the home side scored from all their first four spot kicks while Deal missed two of theirs and so bowed out.
Derek Hares’ side, who had knocked out higher-league Sittingbourne in the previous round, were up against another Isthmian League side last night and it was Chipstead who were on top in the early stages but the Hoops’ defence held firm and half-time arrived with the scoreline still goalless.
Then, after 75 minutes, Deal broke the deadlock with a goal from captain Kane Smith (stock action picture below) and they managed to hold onto their slender advantage until the 87th-minute when Callum McAllister drew the home side level.
And, with no extra-time or replays at this stage of this season’s FA Cup, the tie went straight to a penalty shootout, with Deal’s travelling supporters hoping they were about to see a repeat of the epic FA Vase win on penalties at Binfield last season when ‘keeper James Tonkin was the Hoops’ hero.
But this time it wasn’t to be, with “Tonks” unable to stop any of Chipstead’s first four kicks while Smith and Troy Howard both missed their kicks. Steve O’Brien and Billy Munday did score with theirs, but it wasn’t enough.
Hoops’ assistant-manager Steve King “tweeted” afterwards: “After a difficult opening 15 minutes it was a great effort by the boys and very close to another upset. Shame there are no replays and had to be decided by the lottery of pens. We move onto Saturday with heads held high.”
Deal: Tonkin, Paxman, Hark, Foster, Smith, Munday, Eldridge, Murray, Baker (O’Brien s/h), Chapman, Howard.